7 Comments

  1. Jane Zimmerman

    The parts of my parenting that my kids like they can attribute to Sue. Thanks, Megan, for this beautiful tribute!

  2. Anne

    A few years after Reed married Sue, and as I got to know her, (Spent a lot of time with them while at St. Ambrose) I dreamt that Reed divorced her, and I never spoke to him again. I love Sue. And I love you all. You are all in my prayers. God bless.

  3. Jenny

    Very very beautiful Megan. Especially over recent years, as I’ve learned of other family members, friends, colleagues share tragic news of THEIR mom, I would silently tell myself the reality is one day this could be me. I find myself repeating the following phrase in my mind, yeah but it’s MY mom. It’s mom. It’s Sue Haeger. It’s no surprise that we witnessed mom consoling those as she shared her news with them. And dad… Well as I mentioned during one of our visits over the last few days, they’ll just keep showing us how to do it. Thank you so much for capturing all of this so beautifully Megan!

  4. Mike Zimmerman

    Megan-

    Such a great story of who your mom is, and how she lives how important authenticity is during this human experience. I look back on my visits in the summers in West Point, some of the best memories from my youth. Love you guys and you are in my thoughts and prayers!

  5. Becky

    Megan, your writing brought tears to my eyes and joy to my heart. Sue is amazing. I am so glad I got to spend some time with everyone in August. Especially the evening that Nanook and I stopped by the tavern and sat with Sue and had an adult beverage with her. I was able to remind Sue of the time she and I were at Maiden and I was telling her how much I missed Laurie Ann and hadn’t talked to her in years. Your mom very frankly told me to get off my ass, pick up the phone and call Laurie Ann. Simply tell her I missed her and loved her. No other explanation necessary. I agreed and said I would when I got home to Spokane. Well, fast forward a month after our conversation, I didn’t do what your mom told me to do and I received a phone call from my mom letting me know that Laurie Ann hadn’t woke up. She had passed in her sleep. I was devastated and promised myself I would never let that happen again. Your mom is a very wise woman and I have always admired her no BS approach. You all are in my thoughts and prayers.

Comments are closed.