One Comment

  1. Katie

    Megan, You wrote like you were writing my experiences.
    You gave a term to something I had also been seeing/feeling/wondering “Is there something called co-deterioration. Dad for the last year and a half had to have been putting up a good front for Mom and us. I think he is relenting and a bit, with the absence of the need to “be there for mom”. I think co-deterioration is an accurate term…

    Blessings.

    Re: “… major cleaning, as well as the sorting, distribution, and release of years worth of memories and mementos. This past weekend, we were able to begin the process. It was and will be arduous, fulfilling, nostalgic, and cathartic.”

    “We aren’t the things we collect, acquire, read. We, are, for as long as we are here, only love. The things we loved. The people we loved. And these, I think these really do live on.” A.J. Fikry, THE STORIED LIFE OF A.J. FIKRY, by Gabrielle Zevin

Comments are closed.